We use cookies to improve your experience online. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies as described in our cookies policy.

Cristina Iglesias in conversation with Norman Foster RA

Architecture Awards Ceremony 2020


Thursday 3 December 2020
6.30 — 7.45pm

This event has now ended

See upcoming talks

Cristina Iglesias, Tres Aguas, 2014.

Town Hall Square, Toledo.

Stainless steel, water and hydraulic mechanism. Photo: Attilio Maranzano.

Celebrate the winners of the RA Architecture Prize and the RA Dorfman Award in this special online event focussing on the value of public space.

Please note, this event is taking place online via Zoom.

The RA Architecture Awards conclude with an online webinar themed around public space. In a year defined by the pandemic and the ongoing Black Lives Matter protests, the way we interact with public spaces has changed radically – and the jury’s selection of artist Cristina Iglesias as the winner of the RA Architecture Prize feels even more pertinent.

Inspired by this, Cristina Iglesias and the RA Dorfman Award finalists are asked to reflect on the subject of public space in relation to their work.

We begin by introducing the RA Dorfman Award Finalists and announcing the 2020 winner. Cristina Iglesias will then present a celebratory lecture, exploring her work and its connections to public space, followed by a conversation with the chair of this year’s jury, Norman Foster RA. Ranging from gallery spaces to city squares, their conversation will chart the important public aspect of Iglesias’ work.

Following the lecture and conversation, there will be 15 minutes for the audience to ask questions.


Lord Norman Foster RA is a British architect known for his innovative, stylish structural designs, as seen with edifices like Berlin’s Reichstag, New York City’s Hearst Tower and London’s City Hall.

Cristina Iglesias is a Spanish sculptor. She works with materials including steel, water, glass, bronze, bamboo and straw to offer a poetic redefining of space. She champions an approach that encourages and evokes unique modes of engagement, feelings and perception of space.

RA Dorfman Award Finalists

AAU Anastas is a Bethlehem-based practice, ran by brothers Elias and Yousef Anastas. They are passionate about promoting Palestinian heritage and making it compatible with cutting edge contemporary digital fabrication.

AOR Architects is based in Helsinki and specialises in public buildings and wood construction. Founded in 2015 by Finnish architects Erkko Aarti, Arto Ollila and Mikki Ristola, the practice has evolved into an office of 13 with a focus on designing complex public buildings in demanding urban settings.

BCKJ Architects is located in Beijing, China and was founded by Dong Mei and Liu Xiaochuan in 2004. They are passionate about the environment and many of their projects take great pains not to disturb their local setting—often by building around trees and only using local materials.

WHBC Architects is a two-person office based in Malaysia consisting of BC Ang and Wen Hsia Ang, founded in 2007. For them, architecture is at its best when it comes from diverse sources, so they stay purposefully small, working with different collaborators. Their projects are brought together by a commitment to local and re-used materials and a playful, unique engagement with context.

● Fully booked

● Cancelled

Thursday 3 December 2020

6.30 — 7.45pm

Online Zoom talk

Free, booking required

    Discover more