Sir Hamo Thornycroft R.A.., ca.1884
From: Joseph Parkin Mayall
RA Collection: Art
A form lodged at the Copyright Office in 1883 confirms the location of the photograph to be the suite of studios next to the family home at Moreton House, Melbury Road. The first studio was used to house plaster copies of works by various members of the family, this and the second room were also used for 'pointing' - the marking out of points on the rough marble as a guide for carving the future sculpture. The next room was used by Thonycroft's assistants, whilst Thornycroft himself, used the inner studio as shown in the photograph. Approximately 35 feet in length, lit by a high lancet window, with walls painted a 'Pompeian' red, it had a high sloping roof and a fireplace designed by the artist. On either side of the fireplace are photographs of portions of the Elgin marbles. On the wall behind Thornycroft can been a photograph of the Venus de Milo, below are various busts and statuettes, evidence of Thornycroft's sympathy with early Greek Art.
216 mm x 165 mm
Artists At Home Photographed By J.P. Mayall, And Reproduced In Facsimile By Photo-Engraving On Copper Plates. Edited, With Biographical Notices And Descriptions, By F.G. Stephens - London:: 1884. [All rights reserved.]
Start exploring the RA Collection
- Explore art works, paint-smeared palettes, scribbled letters and more...
- Artists and architects have run the RA for 250 years.
Our Collection is a record of them.